The Sphenisciformes consist of a single family of 17 birds in 6 genera. They are only found in the Southern Hemisphere. Penguins are flighless marine birds with modified wings, no flight feathers, and short legs placed far back on the body. They are considered to be the Southern Hemisphere ecological equivalent of the Auks (family Alcidae).

Family Common name Total number
Spheniscidae Penguins 17 (6)


Scientific Education about the Penguins

By Rob Nelson

Can't find what you're looking for? Search for it here


A site of The Wild Classroom