This order is a small order that consists of 3 family and 7 ratite birds of Australia, Papua New Guinea and New Zealand: Cassowaries, Emus and Kiwis.


Family Common name Total number
Casuariidae Cassowary 3 (1 genus)
Dromiceiidae Emu 1 (1 genus)
Apterygidae Kiwis 3 (1 genus)


This group of birds is small and restricted geographically. There is 1 Cassowary in Australia, one in Papua New Guinea, and one in Borneo. There is only one Emu and its found in Australia. The Kiwis are found in New Zealand and were recently added to this order based on molecular data.

By Rob Nelson

Can't find what you're looking for? Search for it here


A site of The Wild Classroom